NDASFAA Business Meeting Thursday, April 6, 2017, 12:00 p.m. MST Ramada Grand Dakota Hotel & Conference Center, Dickinson, ND

Welcome/Call to Order

Scott recognized Ken Wallace, GLHEC, for 45 years of service to the financial aid profession, as he will not be in attendance during the banquet. Ken will be retiring in August of this year.

Scott Lingen, NDASFAA Past-President for the upcoming year passed the gavel to Lindsey Benson, NDASFAA President for the upcoming year. President Benson called the meeting to order at 12:07 p.m. MST. President Benson directed members to review the Agenda, copies of which were on each table. 2016 Business Meeting Minutes and Treasurer's Report available on the NDASFAA website.

Approval of Agenda

Bethany Vincent voted to approve the agenda; Scott Lingen seconded; motion carried

Roll Call/ Approval of Minutes

Roll call was taken by Secretary Hager. 15 of the 20 institutional voting members were present. 5 of the 7 associate voting members were present. Tom Ternes motioned to approve the minutes; Karrie Huber seconded; motion carried.

Treasurer's Report – given by Bethany Vincent – available on conference website, 45 registered with \$3230 expected income, waived 2 registrations under the new corporate structure, complimentary registrations granted to Vicky Kucera, RMASFAA President, and Joe Massman, US Department of Education Training Officer; \$2900 in corporate support. All 20 institutions renewed their memberships, 7 associations renewed (SLND no longer exists) 16-17 balance sheet is up until March 30th on NDASFAA website, all state filings are current.

Scott Lingen motioned to approve the Treasurer's Report; Donna Seaboy seconded; motion carried

Committee Reports

<u>Nominations</u>: Val Heilman, past-past president, (for Janelle Kilgore) – encouraged members to consider serving an office if asked. Explained voting process, passed out election ballots for offices.

<u>Conference 2017</u>: Marcia Pritchert & Linda Greenstein, co-chairs – committee members Judy Hager, Amy Myers, Katie Dunphy, Brad Reibel, Amanda Woidyla, Tonya Brandt, Chris Meek assisted as site contact; appreciate corporate support, will hand out evaluation tomorrow – encouraged members to make suggestions/recommendations on the evaluation, have \$95 as of last night for Bakken Paws

<u>Awareness</u>: Lindsey Benson, chair – committee members included Lindsey and Laura Feidler from BND (no longer with BND), now Staci Holzheimer at BND; 199 individuals attended various workshops; financial aid sessions – served 56 communities, 425 families – mostly through BND video nights, some through financial aid live presentations; 6 recipients for scholarships chosen (also 6 alternates chosen); trying an email campaign for high school guidance counselors; may also put some things on NDASFAA website

<u>Awards & Membership</u>: JaLee Lynnes & Karrie Huber, co-chairs – 20 paid institution members, 7 paid associates, everything went very well this year; 2 rookie of the year nominations – online application put up this year; nomination goes to JaLee and she shares that information with the Board; 23 certificates for years of service, 4 retirees; these awards will be presented at the banquet tonight

<u>Electronic Initiatives</u>: Becky Gunn, chair – Dennis Junk still serves as webmaster and does not want to step down, but would like to have a back-up in the event he's no longer able to continue as webmaster; Tom Ternes will check to see if someone at BND could assist; 2019 will be the 20 year anniversary of the NDASFAA website;

<u>Diversity and Multi-Cultural Initiatives</u>: Brenda Zastoupil & Ahmed Shiil, co-chairs – Ahmed and Dakota Kidder presented – this committee was inactive for some time, tried to evaluate the responsibilities of the committee, introduce speakers that discusses diversity issues in higher education; reviewed NDASFAA website scholarship resource – 80% of the links were inactive

<u>Professional Development</u>: Scott Lingen, member, (for Sheila Dolan) – last year 44 participants in Bismarck, Joe Massman with ED participated via telephone; NASFAA credentialing possibility for fall training conference for the future

Election Results – New President-Elect will be Karrie Huber, Treasurer Bethany Vincent (renewing), Associate Member at Large – Tom Ternes (renewing); Val Heilman asked for a motion to destroy the ballots -Katie Nettell made a motion, Kristie Myers seconded

Old Business none

New Business

Scholarship award recipients selected - Marcia Pritchert, VCSU

2017 NDASFAA Fall Professional Development Training Site - Minot will host at MSU, most likely November 8-9

2018 Annual NDASFAA conference site – Bethany Vincent and Sherry Bisek, co-chairs - Fargo – early April (dates not yet set), Ramada now Delta Marriott 6-8? – looking for volunteers for committees;

2018 RMASFAA Conference (50th Anniversary) — Bethany Vincent and Sherry Bisek, co-chairs- Fargo, Oct 5-11, Ramada now Delta Martiott - 7 committees – site transportation, registration, programming, entertainment/decorating/hospitality, philanthropy/publicity and pre-conference, vendors/sponsors/corporate development, electronics/technology; hoping to have 2-5 volunteers from each institution assist in some way

Other none

Adjourn Shirley Hanson made a motion to adjourn, JaLee Lynnes seconded – meeting adjourned at 12:41 p.m.

Submitted by Judy Hager, Secretary